National Youth Employment Body

The National Youth Employment Body addresses youth unemployment through these key structures: 

  • The Brotherhood of St Laurence is the enabling organisation that provides research, evidence, data, practice expertise and facilitative leadership to build the capacity of local communities to collaborate, and enable the sharing of key learnings between local and national groups and the wider community.
  • Local Community Investment Committees are the mechanism for key sectors in a community to develop local solutions to address youth unemployment.
  • The National Advisory Board provides guidance, expertise and access to networks and opportunities that support the Community Investment Committees to find community solutions. It marshals evidence and develops consistent strategies and practices that in turn are used to inform policy at a national level
  • Employers drive investment in the skills and capabilities of young people by co-designing work-entry pathways that align the aspirations and interests of young people with business needs
  • Young people share their experiences of employment systems and their aspirations, and contribute to co-design and decision-making locally and nationally to ensure actions and strategies are fit for purpose.

The Paul Ramsay Foundation is funding the scale up of the NYEB to 11 regions across Australia. The Australian Government Department of Education, Skills and Employment funded the Brotherhood of St Laurence in 2018 as the enabling organisation responsible for establishing and coordinating the body and continue to work in partnership with the NYEB.

NYEB Advisory Board

The National Youth Employment body is led by an Advisory Board with representatives from business, education and training, unions, entrepreneurship, the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander sector and government.

Advisory Board members are committed to sharing their knowledge of youth employment pathways and leveraging their networks to advocate for and support the work of the NYEB, including to:

  • Support and advise on the work happening in demonstration sites.
  • Align multiple sectors to influence and co-develop a more coherent and coordinated youth employment approach.
  • Inform a national model that will enable flexible pathways to youth employment in place.

The Advisory Board’s oversight of the strategic direction of the NYEB is also assisted by a series of four expert Working Groups

National Advisory Board members

Samantha Mostyn (Chair)

Independent Non-executive Director

Sara Caplan (Deputy Chair)

Stanninghouse Consulting

Quin Scalzo

Founder, Scalzo Food Industries

Sally Sinclair

CEO of the National Employment Services Association

Lucia Boxelaar

Executive Director, Brotherhood of St Laurence

Prof. Shelley Mallett

Prof. Fellow, University of Melbourne

Scott McCartney

CEO, Kinaway, the Victorian Aboriginal Chamber of Commerce

Craig Robertson

CEO, Victorian Skills Authority

Nathan Smyth

Deputy Secretary, Department of Education, Skills and Employment

Jeannie Rae

Lecturer, Victoria University

Elmina Joldic

Head of Youth, Brotherhood of St Laurence

Elle McLachlan

Manager National Youth Employment Body, Brotherhood of St Laurence

Expert Working Groups

The Expert Working Groups are made up of:

These groups mobilise cross-organisational expertise to advise on the work of the NYEB in advancing its systemic change agenda, on Community Investment Committees and respond to regional themes and issues identified through local collaboration.

Skills and Training Working group

The Skills and Training Working Group provides expertise and advice on the design and implementation of good practice in education and training that builds the skills and capabilities of young people, and mutually benefits local industry and economic development by its relevance to current and future job opportunities.

National Employer Reference Group

Established in 2018 by the Transition to Work National Community of Practice, the National Employer Reference Group (NERG) brings together employer champions from a range of industries with government, youth employment specialists, and young people to collaborate, share expertise and good practice, and co-create solutions that enable young people to achieve meaningful and decent work.

The NERG provides expertise on the development of employer-orientated youth training and employment strategies to inform policy and programs that align with both the aspirations and capabilities of young people and the needs of employers and industry within local labour markets. 

Research Evaluation Design Working Group

The Research Evaluation Design Working Group provides expert input into the design and implementation of the evidence making activities within the National Youth Employment Body (NYEB). The REDWG functions to add value to, and support the Brotherhood in the scaling up of good practice and innovation by providing evaluation design advice.  

National Youth Alliance

The Transition to Work Community of Practice National Youth Alliance, convened by the Brotherhood, provides a platform for the voices of young people impacted by unemployment. The National Youth Alliance enables young people at a local organisation level to advise on the development of resources, how to share learnings, and how to connect with young people in meaningful ways.

Cross-Government Community of Interest

The Cross-Government Community of Interest brings together representatives from across government departments, to more closely align opportunities and investments within existing programs in youth employment, and to integrate efforts towards a more coordinated policy approach.

The Community of Interest is facilitated by the Department of Education Skills and Employment in partnership with the NYEB and membership includes:

  • Department of Education, Skills and Employment
  • Department of Social Services
  • Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Cities and Regional Development
  • Department of Education and Training
  • Department of Health